A quest to tame technology-driven interruptions and distractions in my daily life.

Yes, but…

After sharing this blog and first entry with friends, I got a positive response, but also skepticism as to whether or not I was on the right path. A few friends pointed to the blog or iPad ideas as antithetical. Fair points.

But, to clarify, I am not anti-technology or anti-internet. This blog and iPad plan present no philosophical conflict for me whatsoever. What I’m rejecting is the 100+ micro-distractions that various pings, notices, buzzes, and compulsive check-ins cause for me per day and the mental/emotional tangents they send me on.

With no computer at home and a business that requires email correspondence, a lot of typing, and web access (public relations and business development for our branding/design work), I will need some sort of computational device. We run our own business and have a child with diabetes, so I am not in my office or at my computer 9-5 or even the minimum number of hours needed to do my regular work. Since I am getting rid of my smart phone, I really do need something to send the 75-100 emails per day for client and media correspondence and to write press releases, etc. Right now, the iPad makes the most sense in terms of configuration time, size/cost, distractions, and the ability to be out in the world. But I am totally open to other suggestions.

As for this blog, I think documenting my effort and experience is worthwhile—as is sharing it and hearing critical feedback. So, that’s where I’m at.

Comments on: "Yes, but…" (2)

  1. Justin Townsend said:

    It’s the same misunderstanding that the Amish get. They’re not necessarily anti-technology, they decide whether it improves their principles and way of life as a group. In some communities, it might be appropriate to carry a cell phone with you into remote fields for safety purposes, or have a communal telephone for medical emergencies.
    (although reading this comment might be against your Ordnung)

  2. […] possible—is some sort of contradiction to the premise of The Off Switch. As I’ve written in previous posts, it’s the incessant interruptions of smart phones and the rabbit holes of Facebook and the […]

Leave a Reply

